2021 Invited Speakers

Dr Janina Boughey
Senior Lecturer, UNSW Law and Justice
Hon Justice John Griffiths
Federal Court of Australia
Dr Jemma King
Honorary Research Fellow, University of Queensland
Hon Dr Robyn Layton AO QC
Former Justice, Supreme Court of SA
Dr Carolyn McKay
Senior Lecturer, University of Sydney Law School, author of The Pixilated Prisoner
Hon Justice Janine Pritchard
President, State Administrative Tribunal
Helen Sword
International expert on academic, professional, and creative writing
Ashley Whillans
Assistant Professor, Harvard Business School
Hon Alan Wilson QC
Former President, QCAT
Jenny Brockie
Walkley award winning journalist
Hon Justice Martin Daubney AM
President of QCAT
Hugh Dillon
Deputy President NSW Mental Health Review Tribunal, former NSW Deputy State Coroner
Shane Fitzsimmons
Commissioner of Resilience NSW and former Commissioner NSW Rural Fire Service
Magistrate Fiona Hayes
Victorian Magistrates Wellbeing Committee
Judge Sandy Horneman-Wren SC
District Court of Queensland, former Deputy President of QCAT
Hon Michael Kirby AC CMG
Former Justice of the High Court of Australia
Linda Pearson
Principal Member of NCAT
Judge Richard Weinstein SC
NSW District Court

The COAT is intended to facilitate liaison and discussion between the heads of tribunals. It will support the development of best practice models and model procedural rules, standards of behaviour and conduct for members and increased capacity for training and support for members.